Tuesday, June 7, 2011

AFP names TOPS awardees for 2011

by Jell E. Guzman
Philippine Information Agency, Tuesday, June 7, 2011

QUEZON CITY, June 7 (PIA) -- The Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) named the ten winners of the 2011 search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS) Sunday, June 5, 2011 at the AFP Commissioned Officers Clubhouse in Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City.

AFP Chief of Staff Gen. Eduardo SL Oban, Jr. led the presentation and announcement of the TOPS awardees.

The ten awardees are: Colonel Daniel A. Lucero, Master Sergeant Sixto P. Navarrosa, Chief Master Sergeant Billy C. Benebile all from the Philippine Army; Colonel Alexander F. Balutan, Technical Sergeant Rommel Carbon, Data Processor 3 Jairus M. Cenabre all from the Philippine Navy; Colonel Raul del Rosario, Master Sergeant Maria Teresa M. Bitong, Master Sergeant Nelson S. Mercado all from the Philippine Air Force, and Colonel Alexis Tamondong from the Technical Services.

Oban said the TOPS award will help uplift the morale of the soldiers in terms of showcasing their honorable service to the Filipino people, and significant achievements that validates their commitment to protecting the best interest of the nation.

“I am encouraging all the winners to be inspirations and good role models to the many soldiers who are like the awardees, doing exemplary performance of their vowed duties and responsibilities to the Filipino nation,” added Oban.

The ten awardees will receive an individual cash prize of P300,000 and a trophy courtesy of the Metrobank Foundation. While non-winning finalists will also receive P20,000 each and a certificate from the foundation.

President Benigno S. Aquino III will honor the ten awardees during the conferment ceremonies to be held in MalacaƱang later this month.

The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers is an annual search jointly undertaken by the Rotary Club of Makati Metro and the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. in partnership with the AFP.

The search aims to honor the men and women of the Philippine Army, Philippine Navy, Philippine Air Forces and the Technical Services who served as models of excellence, professionalism, integrity and nobility in the military service.

This year’s board of judges was chaired by Associate Justice Jose Perez of the Supreme Court together with Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process Sec. Teresita “Ging” Deles, Presidential Commission on Good Government Chair Atty. Andres Bautista, former AFP chief and current Muntinlupa Rep. Rodolfo G. Biazon, Navotas City Mayor John Reynald Tiangco, De La Salle University President Br. Narciso Erguiza FSC, and TV5 chief operating officer Bobby Barreiro.


No comments:

Post a Comment