Sunday, November 7, 2010

4 sea marshals to receive int'l award for bravery

Manila Bulletin, Sunday, 7 November 2010

MANILA, Philippines — More than a year after the sinking of the passenger vessel M/V Super Ferry 9 off the Zamboanga Peninsula, the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in London lauded the four sea marshals under the command of the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG) for their unconditional bravery in saving the lives of passengers during that tragic incident.

Commodore Luis Tuason Jr., district commander of the PCG National Capital Region who also heads Task Force Sea Marshals, said the four sea marshals cited were Coast Guard's Petty Officer Second-class Samuel Boniol, Philippine Navy's Petty Officer Third-class Aniifer Bucao and Seaman First-class Oliver Cogo, and SPO3 Loreto F. Justo of the Philippine National Police (PNP) Maritime Group.

They are set to receive their Certificates of Commendation in London in recognition of their action and bravery in the conduct of actual evacuation, disembarkation and rescue operations of the passengers and crew of the ill-fated M/V Super Ferry 9 which sank off the Zamboanga Peninsula on Sept. 6, 2009.

No comments:

Post a Comment